(Courtesy of the Western Golf Association, Evans Scholars Program)

Anthony DeAngelis, Carter Frey, Kenneth Maher and Alexander Xanthacos have been awarded the 2023 New Jersey State Golf Association Evans Scholarship, a full housing and tuition college grant offered to golf caddies. 

The result of a partnership between the Western Golf Association’s Evans Scholars Foundation and the NJSGA’s Caddie Scholarship Foundation, NJSGA Evans Scholars were chosen based on displaying a strong caddie record, excellent academics, financial need and outstanding character. Candidates must meet the qualifications of both organizations to earn the scholarship. Approximately 325 caddies will annually win an Evans Scholarship.

Three of the four (Frey is already attending Indiana University) planning to attend Rutgers University in New Brunswick, New Jersey. The Evans Scholarship is valued at more than $125,000 over four years. There are currently 16 NJSGA Evans Scholars in school this year. All of this year's winners had siblings who had won the award in past years.

“The partnership between the NJSGA CSF and the WGA ESF is bearing fruit. Four exceptional individuals that have been caddying in New Jersey will receive a full scholarship and a first-class education. We are proud to grow the number of New Jersey caddie scholars, including attendees of Rutgers University,” said NJSGA President Michael McFadden.

“Our NJSGA Evans Scholars have demonstrated excellence in the classroom, on the golf course and in their communities,” said WGA Chairman Joe Desch. “We are thrilled for them to join an exceptional class of newly awarded Evans Scholars from across the nation.”

The Western Golf Association, headquartered in Glenview, Illinois, has supported the Chick Evans Scholarship Program through the Evans Scholars Foundation since 1930. Known as one of golf’s favorite charities, it is the nation’s largest scholarship program for caddies.

Currently, a record 1,100 caddies are enrolled at 22 universities across the nation as Evans Scholars, and more than 11,800 caddies have graduated as Evans Scholars since the program was founded by famed Chicago amateur golfer Charles “Chick” Evans Jr.

Scholarship funds come mostly from contributions by more than 36,000 supporters across the country, who are members of the Evans Scholars Par Club program. Evans Scholars Alumni donate more than $15 million annually, and all proceeds from the BMW Championship, the penultimate PGA TOUR Playoff event in the PGA TOUR’s FedExCup competition, are donated to the Evans Scholars Foundation. In 2023, the BMW Championship will be held at Olympia Fields Country Club in Illinois, from Aug. 17-20.

First Name

Last Name


Sponsoring Club

High School




Toms River

Hollywood Golf Club

Toms River HS North

Rutgers University




Fairmount Country Club

Summit HS

Indiana University




Baltusrol Golf Club

Watchung Hills HS

Rutgers University




Spring Lake Golf Club

Saint Rose HS

Rutgers University


*Awarded the NJSGA Evans Scholarship for three years as he is currently a freshman in college.


More about the Evans Scholarship Program....Applications for the 2023-2024 Awards will open in August 2023.

            Sending Deserving Caddies to College

 Applications for the NJSGA Evans Scholarship program is currently closed. It will re-open in August, 2023

A little about the Evans Scholarship Program -- Established in 1930 by the Western Golf Association and celebrated amateur golfer Charles "Chick" Evans Jr, the Evans Scholars Foundation awards full tuition and housing college scholarships to high-achieving caddies with limited financial means. It is the nation's largest scholarship program for caddies and awards approximately 300+ scholarships per year..

315 Awards Annually       1,100 scholars in school   11,815 Alumni

With families facing more financial stress than ever in this post-pandemic time, caddies from all over the country apply for the life-changing Evans Scholarship in record numbers.

The NJSGA is just one of many organizations that have joined with the program to provide great opportunities for caddies at NJ golf clubs.

Evans Scholars attend the following prestigious universities: University of Chicago, Colorado, Illinois, Illinois-Chicago, Indiana, Kansas, Marquette, Maryland, Miami, Michigan, Michigan State, Minnesota, Missouri, Northwestern, Notre Dame, Ohio State, Oregon, Penn State, Purdue, Rutgers, Washington and Wisconsin.

Past NJSGA Evans Scholars have included: John Maher, Connor Martin, Evan Meyer, Nolan Boehmcke, Sean Donohue, Ashley DeAngelis, Michael Fluhr, Nicholas Horowitz, Grayson Mejia, Brandon Scacht, Nicholas Xanthacos, Noah Loveland, Mairead Martin, Lily Formichella, William Martis and Maxwell Walker.

Look for an announcement of the 2023 Winners shortly.....

For more information, visit the WGA Evans Scholars website Western Golf Association Evans Scholar Foundation